I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

*warning* may spontaneously break out in song

on June 30, 2014

despite the occurrences of the day

I find there’s never a better way

to lift the spirits and brighten the mood

and shift one’s southbound attitude

than an outburst of song, no matter where

it quickly melts away every care

Oh, the unspeakable joy it brings

when we stop everything and sing!

 

*warning*  may spontaneously break out in song

I have this weird disease.  I think in song.  Pretty much every single interaction, every conversation I have- reminds me of a song or a song lyric. Like a CD on repeat, songs play through my mind- all day long.  It’s like the soundtrack of my life.

I had the pleasure of watching the Lego movie with my girls and their friends the other day.  I am not a huge movie lover, but I thoroughly enjoyed this one!  And the song that will NOT leave my head is “Everything Is Awesome”.   I admit, the lyrics are rather silly and do not make any sense, but the techno beat and the absurdity of the title is just way too enticing for me to not sing along.

My oldest daughter is getting to that stage where I easily embarrass her.  It doesn’t take much, I assure you.  This gem of a song has left her mortified.  Because every time I hear the word “awesome”- I have to sing this song and do a little dance. My youngest chimes in with me.  So it is like a mini party every single time we hear the word “awesome”… one girl singing and dancing with me, the other covering her ears, rolling on the floor in mortifying pain.  The best of both worlds.

Well, one gorgeous evening, I took the girls to get ice cream.  We got to the drive thru window to pay, and I asked the cashier how her day had been.  Surprisingly, she flashed me a huge smile, and said “Awesome!”

Right on cue, I  turned back to look at the girls.  “Noo!”  I heard my oldest beg me not to embarrass her.  My youngest giggled with glee from the back.

I turned to the cashier and burst out singing “Everything is awesome…” and as soon as I started singing, the cashier began to sing along.  Oh yes!  She knew it too… and she belted it out right along with me.   The best part was that both my girls joined in.  And my easily embarrassed daughter- even she couldn’t resist the sing-a-long.

A spontaneous outburst of awesomeness, right in the McDonald’s drive thru=

priceless!

 

12 responses to “*warning* may spontaneously break out in song

  1. lorriebowden says:

    Oh how I love this post!!! Yes…singing! More people need to start breaking out in song…and you are a perfect catalyst with your beautiful voice! Blessitude 🙂

    Like

  2. *laughing lots* I would have given anything to see that! I bet it was awesome.

    Like

  3. Shanda says:

    We love that movie at my house! We bought it through amazon as soon as we could and have watched in so many times. We all love to shout out the one liners AND sing the “awesome” song. My son Jacob is always humming or singing and he loves collecting songs on his iPod…even as a child he would get into trouble for humming in class at school. I never mind, he has a song in his heart…..and so do you! ~

    Like

    • Julie Harris says:

      Aww… so sweet about your son singing and humming all the time.. I can definitely identify with him 🙂 I am thankful for music and for how it uplifts our spirits!! Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Like

  4. paulfg says:

    Julie – that sunshine graphic in the corner of your page? This one just grabbed me and sunbaked me and gave me a fit of the giggles! Keeps coming back every time I think of the word “awe …”

    (got me again!!)

    Beautiful! Thank you!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Like

  5. Skye says:

    Awesome post from awesome you!!! My kids and I sing this all the time, too. It’s, well……..it’s awesome!!! Hugs!!!!

    Like

  6. Kev says:

    I know exactly what you mean. I sometimes have the same problem. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

