I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

JOY in the Journey

on June 17, 2014
photo

‘Twas a beautiful evening indeed!

 all is right 

on this perfect night

as we stroll along 

at twilight

one daughter holds my hand

the other does handstands

as we stroll along

at twilight

talking about nothing

chatting about everything

as we stroll along

at twilight

these are the miles

I’ll think of  and smile

as we stroll along

at twilight 

I have enlisted the girls to join me in my fitness quest.  I jog one lap around the neighborhood with my oldest daughter, and then I take my youngest and the dog on the second lap.  Last night, both girls were quite tired from a busy day, so they both wanted to walk the second lap with me.

My first inclination was to say no, because at times it is more enjoyable to have one-on-one time with them…but I agreed.

My youngest (who can be quite whimsical) did handstands and cartwheels along side of us as I held my oldest’s hand.  We did short mini-races to the next mailbox.  The dog flopped in the grass countless times to roll around.  I’ll be honest, there wasn’t a lot of “fitness” going on during this second lap…

Some days, this would have frustrated me.  But not tonight.  He’s reminding me that the goal isn’t necessarily to finish first, but to enjoy the journey.  There was much JOY to be had!

And on this particular journey, I was getting a glimpse into the people my girls were becoming.

They were being patient with each other.

They made me laugh as they told funny jokes.

They were thoughtful as they took turns carrying our tired dog.

And we encouraged one another.

Oh, when did they become independent thinkers?  Real people?  It seems like only yesterday I was wearing one in a backpack and pushing the other in the stroller… searching for juice cups and goldfish to bring along for these walks.  And here I am- actually having real-life, thought-provoking conversations with them.  I want to soak up every minute of it.

So, on this fitness quest of ours, I am allowing Him to be our coach.  May He teach us to enjoy the journey, not just the finish line- and may He teach us endurance of the heart!

 We can rejoice, too, when we run into problems and trials, for we know that they help us develop endurance. And endurance develops strength of character, and character strengthens our confident hope of salvation.  Romans 5:3-4

15 responses to “JOY in the Journey

  1. paulfg says:

    Gorgeous. And love the “enjoy the journey, not just the finish line” Ahhhhhh …. Lovely!!

    Like

  2. I loved how you incorporated the verse from Romans into your post. It really brought the whole thing together. And this was simply lovely!!

    Like

  3. So lovely,sis 🙂

    Like

  4. Quality time with your girls. This is great!! They become independent thinkers pretty young these days I’ve noticed. Lord bless you!!!

    Like

  5. atimetoshare says:

    Thanks for the reminder to stop and smell the roses.

    Like

  6. Nothing like a pleasant walk! Wowawee! Handstands and cartwheels. They’re tough!

    Like

  7. lorriebowden says:

    Hi Julie! I love this…I can see the whole walk unfolding before my eyes. I can also remember walking with my son when he was of like age…you are so wonderful to know that you need to really be present for this…it goes by soooooo fast!!! Love to you!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

