I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Light exposes darkness….and unwanted critters

on May 31, 2014

Image

Light exposes the true character of everything  Ephesians 5:13

 The light coming from the moon was so bright the other night.  As I pulled into the driveway, I didn’t even need a porch light to get into my house.  The pathway leading to my door was perfectly illuminated by the moonlight.

Light exposes darkness.

We had a slight problem recently.  It seems that one of my fabulous thrift store furniture finds brought an unwanted guest into my home- roaches.  Yes, I shudder even typing the “r” word. It is no secret that they like the dark.  Is is any wonder that these detestable pests scamper at the first sign of light?  I crept into the kitchen many times in fear as I flipped on the light switch…fortunately I only saw one or two run for cover, but I knew there had to be more.

I could have left it alone, and kept spraying the one or two that I would see, but I knew if there were one or two, that there had to be more hiding- in my walls, cabinets, other tiny crevasses that harbored snug hiding places…

Which got me thinking- how many times have I tried to mask something that was happening on a deeper level in my personal life?  I can paint smiles on my face and stuff away feelings, but unless I go to God about all things, they will always be there, lurking in the darkness.

Open my eyes that I may see wonderful things in your law.  Psalm 119:18

When I come to Him, just as I am, I don’t want to stay that way. I want Him to change me.  I want Him to disinfect every area of my heart that offends Him.  I don’t want any sin critters running rampant inside of me, I want them all gone!

It is so easy to make excuses for ourselves and to continue to mess up and do the same things again and again… but we don’t have to!  Through the power of the Holy Spirit we can be free from the things that are holding us down, keeping us from living a life of abundant joy and peace.  And praise the  Lord- my not-so-friendly critters are gone!!

23 responses to “Light exposes darkness….and unwanted critters

  1. Superb analogy! But… Yuck! Bugs!
    Hope you get rid of them ASAP!

    Like

  2. paulfg says:

    Laughing with you, thinking and pondering in me, casting a little more light in my own crevices! Thank you.

    Like

    • Julie Harris says:

      Sometimes we have to laugh to keep from crying, lol! I detest bugs… I would have done anything to get rid of those pesky critters!! If only our world would look at sin and hate it as much as we do roaches!!

      Like

  3. I shudder at the thought of roaches–hope you get rid of them quickly! I hope I will feel as much revulsion toward the “wicked ways” in my heart.

    Search me, O God, and know my heart!
    Try me and know my thoughts!
    And see if there be any grievous way in me,
    and lead me in the way everlasting!–from Psalm 139

    Like

  4. lorriebowden says:

    Hi Julie! Great post…ick to the roaches…but so poetic the light exposes all! I too pray that all of my not so harmonious to God’s way habits are exposed to the light! Many blessings to you…have a wonderful weekend!

    Like

  5. What a great post but an unfortunate event for you Julie. Thanks so much. Btw, new bluebirds hatched yesterday!!😀

    Like

  6. Kev says:

    I detest those…things! Thankfully there is more pest control over here and such things are rarely seen. My sister once saw one in her bath and she took it to the counsel. They sprayed the whole street. Haven’t seen one here since. 🙂

    Like

  7. Kev says:

    Oops spelling! Council. 😀

    Like

  8. Oh my! Glad that’s taken care of. What a zinger. And I do love the analogy. So true.

    Like

  9. Skye says:

    Oh my word!!! I think I may pass out….just the thought of the “r” word. How wonderful that you are able to turn an awful event into something so special for us to share in. 🙂 Still have the chills though….Blech! ❤ Hugs & love sent your way!

    Like

  10. Julie Harris says:

    We ate out a lot- I was terrified to even be in the kitchen, lol! I’m so glad they are gone!! Praying you are having a good week!

    Like

  11. rolerrol says:

    So true…the light exposes the darkness! This principle has helped me so many times. Nothing should be left hidden is what I try to live by daily! Great post…
    Rolain

    Like

Leave a Reply

