I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Fount of Many Blessings

on May 27, 2014

 photo

I count my blessings one by one

and think of all the times

I fail to see simplicity

in this blessed life of mine

a simple four leaf clover

a reminder of His grace

of His fount of many blessings

when I continually seek His face  

I woke up this morning with a feeling of discouragement.  I wanted to kick myself, because I have way too much to be thankful for, and I know it. Not to mention, it’s just way too gorgeous outside to not be smiling ear to ear!   So, I took the dog out and began praying, and thanking God for my many blessings.  I looked down and  saw the most ginormous four leaf clover today-

photo

I find them all the time- but this one was huge!  When I got home, I opened up a book where I had places other four leaf clovers, and I smiled as I looked at the song on the page- Come Thou Fount of Many Blessings.  One of my favorites. He most definitely is a Loving Father who is pouring out blessing after blessing. One who knows just how I’m feeling, and exactly what I needed to “fill my cup”.

And as I placed the clover into the book, I began to sing the song…

Come, Thou Fount of every blessing,
Tune my heart to sing Thy grace;
Streams of mercy, never ceasing,
Call for songs of loudest praise.
Teach me some melodious sonnet,
Sung by flaming tongues above.
Praise the mount! I’m fixed upon it,
Mount of Thy redeeming love.

Just like we have to tune our instruments, I needed to tune my heart to His. The more I sang, the louder my praises rang- and the more joyful I felt.  This song ran through my mind all day- as did the many things I am thankful for.  He is, indeed, pouring out a continuous fountain of blessings-

a loving husband and two wonderful girls

A beautiful home

a plethora of clothing to wear

more than enough food to eat

 many basic freedoms that I take for granted

When I focus on circumstances, on things, or people- it is easy to forget the many things I have to be thankful for.  It’s like looking into a field of green- and only seeing the weeds.  Sometimes I have to look a little harder for them- but those four leaf clovers are always there.

Always be joyful. Never stop praying. Be thankful in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus.  1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

photo

From his abundance we have all received one gracious blessing after another.  John 1:16

Lord, help me to tune my heart to Yours today!  Forgive me for focusing on circumstances and not on Your goodness.  You are making all things work together for good- and I trust in You completely.  Thank you for this day and for overflowing my heart with praise and thanksgiving for You!

18 responses to “Fount of Many Blessings

  1. Shanda says:

    beautiful post.

    Like

  2. Wowawee! I never find those. Man that’s awesome!

    I try to do that all the time. Count my blessings. It usually works too.

    Like

  3. Sara Mallette says:

    Thanks Julie! I needed this today! Be blessed!!!

    Like

  4. paulfg says:

    “I needed to tune my heart to His” – WOW! Now that is eight words!! A great eight words!!

    Like

    • Julie Harris says:

      Thanks for reading… as I sang the hymn, I couldn’t get past the line “tune my heart to sing Thy grace”… so much truth in those good old hymns! Blessings to you!

      Like

  5. Thank you for this reminder 🙂

    Like

  6. BloomLisa says:

    My daughters delightfully found three four leaf clovers last week in our yard. They have such a profound affect on people and they do brighten a day just by being different. LOVE!! And, yes that is HUGE one. I don’t think I have ever seen one so large before. You are blessed indeed. Light & love.

    Like

  7. lorriebowden says:

    HI Julie…I am so happy for you. I just love when we need a pick me up…and we go immediately to our blessings…and then our whole energy changes! It is a lesson for us all. And I am sorry that you were sad…but life is balance…and I have found that to truly know one side of a feeling we need to experience the other as well. As far as those clovers…I LOVE THEM!!! I need to find one 🙂 Much love to you…keep singing!

    Like

  8. Skye says:

    Truly a beautiful post, Julie. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

