I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

We all eventually leave the nest…

on May 22, 2014

So God created great sea creatures and every living thing that scurries and swarms in the water, and every sort of bird—each producing offspring of the same kind. And God saw that it was good.  Genesis 1:21

IMG_0960

One day old House Finch birds

I knew the day would come for these sweet babies to spread their wings and fly away.  It has been such a joy to watch them grow and hear their sweet singing every morning!  My girls considered naming them, but I warned them that they would only be in the nest for a short time.  They even asked if we could “keep” them.  I told them no, that they were meant to fly and be free.

IMG_1103

Two week old House Finch birds

We peeked in on them every day…and the speed at which they developed and grew feathers was simply amazing!  I kept telling the girls that any day they would be leaving.  And then yesterday, I had a sense that it was going to happen.

Momma and daddy perched themselves on the gutter atop my front porch, and I could hear them cheering the babies on!

IMG_1147

Mama and Daddy bird anxiously wait for their babies to fly!

And I could hear the baby birds fluttering their wings in the nest on our front door…I took my dog for a walk and then went onto the porch to peek at them- and lo and behold- the first baby peered up at me and flew for the first time!  Momma and Daddy bird were celebrating and flying all around- peeping continuously, and I found myself smiling, and cheering right along with them!

IMG_1149

The last two babies wait for their turn to fly away

These babies would have not survived if my friend and I had not put them back into the nest that had fallen off my door.  And here they were-only two weeks later-  ready to spread their wings and fly!  I went on about my day, and when I returned home that afternoon, they were all gone.

All this made me think about what it will be like when my own daughters leave my “nest”.  Life is flying by at lightening speed.  It seems like just yesterday I brought my first baby home from the hospital. One day, Lord willing,  I will watch both of my girls graduate … and hopefully get married… and have their own babies…oh, I can hardly bear to think of them growing up, but it’s happening right before my very eyes! I can’t even imagine what it will feel like to let them go- to watch my girls spread their wings and fly.  And like a farmer, planting seeds- I pray that someday the Good Lord will reap a harvest of fruit in the lives of my children.  And I will right there with them- cheering from the sidelines as they “fly”.  Just like Momma and Daddy bird!

“but those who hope in the Lord
    will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
    they will run and not grow weary,
    they will walk and not be faint.” Isaiah 40:31

 

17 responses to “We all eventually leave the nest…

  1. Veda says:

    Very apt title 🙂

    Like

  2. And I’m sure your girls will be just fine, too.

    Like

  3. Great post. It will be much worse to see your Precious kids leave as I’m sure you will agree. I have another nest full of 5 bluebird eggs. No pinks though. Lol. Great post!!!

    Like

    • Julie Harris says:

      Oh, I can’t even think about what it will be like to have my own “empty nest”! Thankfully, I still have many years with them… they are 11 and almost 9. That is so neat about your bluebird eggs! Isn’t nature just fascinating?! Blessings to you!

      Like

  4. kcg1974 says:

    Nature’s ‘babies.’ So sweet.

    Like

  5. lorriebowden says:

    Oh Julie…it happens in the blink of an eye. Enjoy your little babies every moment! ♡♡♡

    Like

  6. Ooooohhhhh, Julie. I’m right there with you. My only… turns 20 this summer. Yikes time flies! But God has bloomed her like a beautiful flower to love by Him, for Him, and because of Him.
    Yours will too!
    Bless you Momma!
    🙂

    Like

    • Julie Harris says:

      Aww… Blessings to you and your daughter! My only hope is that they grow to love The Lord and follow whatever His will is for them. Being a mom is a wonderful, bittersweet journey 🙂

      Like

  7. Kev says:

    Aww, bless…they’re so beautiful! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

