I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

look where you’re going

on March 6, 2014

Image

losing my focus

forgetting to look ahead

the tree branch attacks

One recent morning I was taking a walk.  I’ve been down this particular street a hundred times. I was walking my dog and trying to get him to hurry up with his important business.  “Come on!!”  I muttered under my breath.  “Go potty!!” I said through gritted teeth- as if he was going to actually hurry his own business for my benefit.

I was so focused on staring at him, and thinking of all the things I needed to get home to do, that I nearly jumped out of my skin when I walked straight into a tree branch!  I have done this so many times- and always when I am in a hurry.  This time I literally laughed out loud at myself and how it startled me.  This branch protrudes in an unusual way and juts out into the road right at eye-level.  And yet, I have walked directly into it more times than I care to admit.  I hit it so hard that it took my hair out of it’s barrette.  I laughed thinking about how this altercation with the branch must have looked.

He is constantly reminding me to keep my focus on Him… to look up and not hurry His business.  He is always at work- but His timing is not defined by a clock, like mine tends to be.

And you know what amazes me the most?  When my gaze gets off the sky- when I forget to look where I’m going and something trips me up- God doesn’t laugh at me or say I told you so!  He shows me His endless grace, extends His hands of mercy and helps me get back on track.

Let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverancethe race marked out for us,  fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith  Hebrews 12

Thank You for reminding me to look where I’m going and to focus on You.  Thank You for tree branches that help me get my attention where it needs to be, and for Your endless mercy and grace.  May I remember to extend the same to others as You have so graciously extended to me.  

3 responses to “look where you’re going

  1. So true! It’s great our God is so forgiving and merciful. What kind of dog do you have? (The professor has walked into things too!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

