I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Daddy’s Silly Songs…and a song about them

on February 28, 2014

Image 2

Tomorrow is my oldest daughter’s 11th birthday!  What a wonderful blessing she is!  Sweet as pie, eyes as blue as the sky, loving, and kind… she’s a beauty inside and out!

She is quickly leaving behind the little girl things like dress-up and playing with dolls… but just the other day, she warmed my heart when she said just how much she loves it when Daddy sings his Silly Songs at bedtime!

Since the girls were very little, we have had the same bedtime routine.  I pray with them every night, and Daddy sings to them. They think it’s the best thing ever.  Any child who has been here to sleep over can tell you about the ruckus that occurs in this house for the 5 minutes before, during, and after one of Daddy’s Silly Songs.  Have you heard of Silly Songs with Larry from Veggie Tales?  Well, they are nowhere NEAR as silly as my husband can be!   He will ask them for a word, and then uses the word to make an entire “silly song”!  And I don’t know that I’ve ever heard anyone with laughter as loud as my husband’s!

Even though my husband works long hours, I am so thankful that most evenings he is able to be home to tuck them in bed and sing them their song.  This is the highlight of the evening for both of the girls.  And I admit, I smile, too- even though I know this is not settling them down for bed, lol!   Every time I see how silly he is with the girls, God reminds me that I need to laugh a little more with them, too!

I wrote a song about our evenings.  When I am stressed to the max doing homework with the girls, cleaning, phone ringing, making dinner, playing referee… I quickly remember that everything’s going to be ok- because I have a loving husband and father who is going to come home to us… and his silly songs will make us all smile!  When I hear him singing with the girls, I am reminded how very blessed I am!

And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love. 1 Corinthians 13:13

Oh- and Happy Birthday, Katie Bug!

 It’s Gonna Be Okay

There are times when I feel
my patience wearing thin
at the end of the day
is when it all begins
Momma’s in high demand
and I’m feeling torn in two
dinner, dishes, laundry, homework,
and dog is barking, too.
Then I remember that I’m not alone
Daddy’s working hard to give us a home
And He’ll be here to say goodnight
And with all of us home, everything’s alright!
It’s gonna be ok, daddy’s coming home tonight
He’ll tuck you in bed and He’ll turn out your light
He’ll sing a silly sing and you’ll both sing along
and momma will pray with all of her might
it’s ok, ok, ok….. ok, ok, ok
Seeing daddy reminds me
that I need to be more silly
And not take everything
quite so seriously
Then he comes to their room
and he asks for a single word
he creates the silliest
bedtime song
that You have ever heard!
And I thank God for my family
and all the blessings He’s given me
A thousand love songs I could sing
But a silly one- that’s daddy’s thing!
13 responses to “Daddy’s Silly Songs…and a song about them

  1. Joan Clapp says:

    I cannot Katie is getting older. I miss the girls so much but hopefully we will see them this Summer!

    Like

  2. Julie Harris says:

    I know.. it is hard to believe how fast they are growing up. We miss you, too!!!

    Like

  3. Elaine says:

    Love this post and happy birthday Katie!

    Like

  4. I know I’m late..but I want to wish her! So…Belated Happy Birthday dear! May God bless you with abundant blessings!

    I just loved this post!
    Much love sent to you and your cute little angels! Neeky

    Like

  5. Skye says:

    What a lovely post!!! I hope her day was perfectly splendid!!! How fun that we both had little one’s celebrating together!! I did not sew mine a gift……did you? lol 🙂 Hugs!!!

    Like

    • Julie Harris says:

      Yes, that is neat that our daughters share the special day! No- no time for birthday sewing but we plan to try to make something today… another snow day 🙂 Blessings to you!

      Like

  6. Kev says:

    lmao…it’s nice to see another side to you. The less serious side. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

