I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Master Creator

on February 19, 2014
Image 2
Oh, crafty table
You draw me near
the possibilities 
are endless here…
a thousand things
within my view
 we love creating
something new! 


In the beginning God created…  Genesis 1:1

There is something so freeing and beautiful about being creative!  My daughters love to make things- clothes for their dolls, purses my oldest even made a Barbie house out of  cardboard that  looks just like Laura’s house from Little House on the Prairie! 

They have begged me to learn how to sew.  I finally bit the bullet and bought a sewing machine.  I have used one before, but not for years!  I think we all had fancy ideas that this new sewing machine would magically pop out of the box, thread itself, and be instantly ready to create things for us.  I am not very patient, and I knew that this was going to require an abundance of it!

I took it out of the box,  and I read every direction- front to back.  The girls were looking over my shoulder, patiently waiting to put their foot on the pedal.  I threaded the bobbin and got everything in proper working order.  The girls brought me material to sew into a pillow.  Simple enough! I made one perfectly straight seam,  and then the second time I tried- I heard a horrible noise.

I took the bobbin off and the little metal pieces all came apart.  I read and re-read the directions on how to put them back together, and I quickly got frustrated.  I felt a giant meltdown bubbling up inside me.  I literally wanted to throw these pieces against the wall.  I quietly asked the girls to go play for a while.

I put them together every which way I could think of.  I had no one to help me, and I felt like I had let the girls down.  I did the only thing I could think to do… “Jesus, please help me,” I said quietly, praying He would somehow help the situation.

“Mommy?  Why did you just call Jesus?”  My youngest overheard me in the playroom as I prayed out loud.

“Because I need His help.”  It was the honest truth.  I was so frustrated, and I didn’t want to have a melt down.  As I calmly prayed, after a few tries- I got it back together.

As my youngest watched me, I thought about how we are so much alike.  She, too, can get very frustrated and angry over something so small in mere seconds.

She, too, likes to try new things.  And she likes to do everything all by herself!

When she gets frustrated…I get frustrated… and it is a vicious cycle.   I need to be more patient with her and show her that even Mommy needs Jesus to help keep me from getting upset.

Casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you. 1 Peter 1:7

I needed the girls to see that mommy really doesn’t know what I’m doing all the time, and that being an adult doesn’t mean you know everything.

Even as an adult, there’s nothing I can do all by myself!  I need Jesus to help me with everything! Not just the big problems in life, but the everyday ordinary things… after all, He is the Master Creator!

Thank you, Lord, for reminding me to come to you in every situation… no matter how big or small it may be. I thank You for giving us hands- to create, to make music, to lift in wondrous worship of You- our Master Creator!

6 responses to “The Master Creator

  1. Skye says:

    It is a beautiful thing when our children see us crying out to the Lord for help. Our needing the Lord to come into our situations does not communicate weakness to them, it communicates that, “If God was there for Mommy, He will be there for me, too.”

    Well done, Dear Friend!! ((I am trying to learn to sew, too–Egads!! Not easy))

    Like

  2. BOX FACE says:

    I think it’s great what you did. Creating new things can be difficult. I recently wrote an article about the creative process, you might be interested to read. Thanks for reminding me about our master creator. Take it easy!

    Like

  3. Kev says:

    It’s amazing how the little things overwhelm us and frustrate us so easily. I get frustrated simply when I can’t find something I need and I consider myself well-organized. You wouldn’t believe how many times I’ve “whispered” in desperation for help to find something.

    Like

Leave a Reply

