I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Taking a time-out

on February 13, 2014
IMG_0310
a lovely sight
of winter white
like I’ve dreamed of for so long
gonna put aside 
some time to play
and sing a happy song
all the other
things can wait
the whole world stops today
coffee, snacking,
and chillaxin’
is the snow-day way!

I long for snow days like today- when the whole world seems to stop and everything is put on hold! I like to think that He is giving us a time-out.  Time to take a step back from the ordinary routine and to live in the moment!

I was reminded just how much I need a time-out as I prepared myself to take Remy, our dog, for a walk this morning.  I got my favorite flavored K-cup of coffee started so that it would be cooled to the perfect luke-warm temperature by the time I returned.  After I took the dog for a quick walk (really, it was more like a “hop” since he is so short and the snow was quite deep),   I came inside to my hubby smiling at me.  I forgot to put my cup underneath the Keurig, so my beloved cup-‘o-love was spilled out all over the counter top. No, it wasn’t the first time I have done this!  Always thinking of a million things at once, something always goes awry!

I heard a pastor this week preach about priorities.  He stressed that we can become so busy that we forget to take time out of our day to spend with God.   Jesus often went away from the crowds to be alone with His Father and pray.  The busier I am, the harder it is to hear God’s quiet whispers…

Image 2

Today is a great day to slow down and enjoy a time-out.

A time-out to pray and spend time alone with God.

A time-out- to regroup, to focus…to breathe, relax, rest…to give thanks for a warm home filled with love and family.

A time out to worship and enjoy His wonderful snow-white creation!

There is nowhere to go, nothing pressing to do- it’s a day to simply live in the moment… and make more cups of coffee..and be thankful.

This is the day the Lord has made;  we will rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118:24

2 responses to “Taking a time-out

  1. The photo is so spectacular – absolutely beautiful – especially from sunny 75 degree Arizona! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

