I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Holding Hands With You

on February 3, 2014

God works in the most amazing ways!

I got a message from my long-time friend, Dianna, last week.  One of her close friends had written lyrics for a song- words that came from her quiet time with God- and wanted them put to music.  With the Lord’s leading, Dianna thought of me and sent me the words.  I sat at the piano, prayed, and He worked out the music in my heart quite quickly.  Since I always share the testimonies behind the songs I have written, I asked my new friend, Jenny- whom I have not met in person- to write her testimony behind the beautiful words she wrote-

The lyrics for “Holding Hands with You”, started out as my teary, tired soul texting itself out to God on my new iPhone. (After I found out I could write myself notes on my phone – one of my best discoveries yet!).

I’m a usually tired mom of two little girls, Kayla a vivacious 8 year old (who happens to have Cerebral Palsy and Autism from a birth injury) and Kallie, a spirited 2 year old who is like a whirlwind of chatter and shenanigans everywhere she twirls.

Image 2

I don’t get a lot of sleep because my oldest doesn’t.   The resulting physical and mental exhaustion of not sleeping and taking loving care of a child who needs help with all of her daily living activities and needs, can get you down and dreary fast, let me tell you.  Sometimes, I’m in a pool of hazy despair before I can say “birth injury”, and it’s all because I try to do things by myself.  I forget I have this loving, all-encompassing God that just wants to love on me and hold my hand.  It’s as simple as that.  He wants to help me every step of the way, and when I remember that, I don’t even have to get to the point that all I want to do is sit and hold hands with Him. I can even feel a little dance coming on as I go through my day’s challenges. 

Image 3

BUT, since I’m human and frail and have long agreed with myself that I am NOT a super “special needs” mom nor do I want to be, I often forget this and have to sit right back down with my head hung with spiritual fatigue, and just hold His hand.  And you know what?  He has never let my hand go once!

I thank you, Julie, who I have not met in person, but who I already know as a precious spiritual friend, for giving God-breathed wings to my soul song.

Thank you too, Dianna Swenson, our mutual cherished friend, for helping me take that scary step of faith and sharing the lyrics with Julie!

The Lord is my strength and song,
And He has become my salvation  Exodus 15:2

My friend, Dianna, and my new friend, Jenny are truly inspirations to me.  I am blessed to know these strong women who love the Lord, and humbled that He would bring us together in this awesome way!  I pray this song will bless your heart and encourage you in your weakness to draw strength from our Heavenly Father- and simply rest in His presence and hold His hand.

“Holding Hands With You”

Too

Tired for petty games,  I lay down my hand and succumb,

Walk away from the table, and seek transparency

Jeopardy is not the theme I envision

Peace and solitude is all I want

Problem is , it can’t be had until found

God help me help myself

I can’t hold my head up

Maybe I can just sit here for a while

Just holding hands with you

Just holding hands with you.

Too

Blue to look for hope,  I give up trying to see through haze,

Take my chances and stay where I am

Optimism isn’t working for me

Rest and quietude is all I want

Challenge is, I can’t muster up the strength to cease

God help me help myself

I can’t hold my head up

So, maybe I can sit here for a while

Just holding hands with you

Yeah, just holding hands with you

Too

Loved to be ignored, I am cherished back to life

While I sit in inauthenticity

Adoration is what saturates me, It’s nothing that I did

Thing is, it’s nothing that I found

God help me help myself

I can hold my head up

When I sit here for a while

Just holding hands with you

Just holding hands with you

J. E. Redick

13 responses to “Holding Hands With You

  1. Jenny Redick says:

    Thank you for the opportunity to make music with you! Can’t wait to meet in person one day soon!

    Like

  2. Julie says:

    Beautiful! The words and music, just beautiful!

    Like

  3. Kev says:

    Love the piano in this one. Beautiful song.

    Like

  4. Dianna says:

    Best song! I want this on my playlist of quiet time songs ❤

    Like

  5. Kathy Wright says:

    I loved it Julie, and I love you for doing it.

    Like

  6. Brittany says:

    You have a beautiful voice- and a touching story! Thank you for sharing. God bless you!

    Like

    • Julie Harris says:

      Thanks for visiting and commenting, Brittany! I loved reading your blog and you have a beautiful voice as well! Keep singing for His glory!

      Like

      • Brittany says:

        Thanks! It’s always encouraging to find other worship pastors who share a similar heart– especially as a woman working in churches 🙂
        You keep singing for His glory as well! You just never know who may hear you and be encouraged!

        Like

  7. Love my friend, Jenny Redick and love your music with her lyrics! (I am also friends with Dianna Swenson) Just a beautiful song! I am director of Faith Inclusion Network of Hampton Roads, VA, and hoping we might use this song sometime in the future for an event. Where do you live Julie? Are you anywhere near us in Norfolk/Virginia Beach, VA? Please feel free to email me at faithinclusionnetwork@gmail.com.
    Blessings

    Like

    • Julie Harris says:

      Thanks so much for visiting here! I have been friends with Dianna for many years and I am looking forward to someday meeting Jenny in person 🙂 I grew up in Va Beach, but moved to Charlottesville, VA about 10 years ago. I will send you an email! Blessings to you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

