I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Without You

on January 27, 2014

I take a deep breath and look around

to see all the ways that You are found

around me

Want to wipe away the day to day

want to put my cares away

Cause You are worthy

So I’m singing my praises to You

Cause that’s just what You’ve made me to do

and I worship You

You are the painter of the sky

and the composer of my heart

I worship You

You are the Savior of the world

and there is nothing I can do

without You

I’m putting aside the time each day

to be alone with you and pray

Pray my heart away

because you know my every thought and need

before I get down on my knees

each and every day.

So let this be my prayer to You

Cause that’s just what You’ve made me to do!

Hurry up! I’m gonna be late again!!

This was my morning song for way too long.  My life had gotten  too busy.  I was having a hard time balancing the things I needed to do with the things I wanted to do.  I  was rushing around every morning and one day, I realized  that what was really suffering was my time alone with God.

I prayed for months about what to do. We had a missionary at our church a couple of years ago who said something that really hit home for me.  She said we can be doing lots of good things, but that doesn’t mean they are “God” things.  Do what God is calling you do to.  When I finally knew what “good things”  He wanted me to stop doing, I began to let go… and like He always does- He made all the puzzle pieces fall into place.

I wrote this song shortly thereafter.  I made a promise that I would set aside the extra time I had to spend with God.  If Philippians 4:13 is true, then we can also say that the reverse of this is true- we can do NOTHING without Him and His power!  I needed to make Him my top priority -to put Him first and to give Him the best part of my day- which just happens to be the morning- because He is worthy of that precious time!

You are the Painter of the sky, the Composer of my heart, the Savior of the world…

and  I can do nothing without You!

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.  Philippians 4:13

 

 

4 responses to “Without You

  1. Sara says:

    Thanks Julie! I needed this today! Love you girl!

    Like

  2. brenda wilkes says:

    Julie, what a wonderful reminder. All things are possible through Christ!!! Love you brenda

    Like

Leave a Reply

