I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

praying for the desires of your heart

on January 24, 2014

Image 2

Praying for the desires of your heart just might change you!

Praying used to be something that was way out of my comfort zone.  I felt like I was talking to thin air, and many times I questioned if He was really listening to me. I thought there was no way He really cared about the desires of my heart.  I mean, there are starving people all over the world, people who have far less than I do… why would He care about my desires?  

This all changed for me the day a friend told me she would pray for me.  No-I wasn’t sick, and I didn’t have any earth-shattering problems.  I simply mentioned that I had wanted a baby grand piano since I was a little girl.

“I’ll pray that you find one,”  she said matter-of-factly.

Take delight in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart. Psalm 37:4

But I already had a piano.  I didn’t really need it.  Why on earth would He care about this desire I had?  Nevertheless, I prayed that if it was His will, that I would find one.  Surely this would be a miracle to a) find one that was dirt cheap and to b) get my husband to actually agree to let me bring a second piano into our home.  Yes, it does sound a bit crazy, doesn’t it?

Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours. Mark 11:24

I searched for one on craigslist, and lo and behold, I saw the most beautiful antique baby grand piano.  We really didn’t have the money for it, but I kept an eye on it for several months.  One day I looked it up, and the price had been reduced to almost half of what it was before!  I asked my husband if I could go look at it.  He agreed, and gave me a ridiculously low price that I could offer.  It was a long shot, but I went anyway.

The owner said it belonged to his mother-who had recently passed away, and he needed to find a new home for it.  I knew this was the one.  I offered him my ridiculously low price for the piano.   He smiled at me and said, “It’s yours!”

I would have never dreamed how the Lord would use this simple prayer to change my life! Through prayer, God began to show me that it was His presence, not a piano, that was my ultimate desire.  I certainly don’t believe He will always give us the tangible things we pray for, but I truly believe He knew this was something that He would use in my personal life to glorify Him!  He taught me how to let go of music and to truly worship.  In fulfilling my life-long desire, He also changed the desire of my heart- to live for Him and to worship!

“And whatever you ask in My name, that will I do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. “If you ask Me anything in My name, I will do it.  John 14:13-14 

I have kept a prayer journal for several years now. Prayers for others, prayers for my family, acquaintances… I now pray without any doubt- but with anticipation.  Romans 8:29 says And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. He may not answer in the way we expect, or as quickly as we’d like, but He always answers!  When we seek Him with all of our heart, with all of our mind, with all of our soul, there is no doubt that He knows what is best for us and answers our every prayer!

pray without ceasing- 1 Thessalonians 5:17

I thank You, Heavenly Father for Your abundant blessings!  I praise You for every prayer answered, and for those that will be answered in Your perfect time.  To think that You not only provide our needs, but that You also care for the desires of our heart is simply amazing.  You are amazing, God!

9 responses to “praying for the desires of your heart

  1. Julie, thanks for sharing this wonderful story about prayer and God’s tender love for us.

    Like

  2. Kev says:

    “Ask, and it shall be given unto you…” Yes, I too have experienced this in my life.

    Like

  3. January says:

    Thanks for sharing this. Prayer is definitely one of the areas I have been trying to work on being and also be more intentional!

    Like

  4. birdchirp says:

    Reblogged this on Redbird's Roost.

    Like

  5. jasonlsparks says:

    God knows our heart’s real desire even before we ask.

    Like

Leave a Reply

