I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Anytime, Anywhere

on January 22, 2014

Image

Snow-covered landscape

Compels me to worship You

 I sing Your praises

Last week I was in a mad rush to get myself and the girls out the door to begin the day.  As I was driving in the car, I began to pray and asked God to slow me down.  I  looked all  around me- the fresh snow covered the hills and the sky was the most brilliant shade of blue.  I praised Him for the time alone in the car- to sing, to worship, to pray, and to take in the view!  I got to my destination and my friend joined me as we carpooled to our next stop.

I handed her my phone and turned on the camera.  “Isn’t it gorgeous?” I said as we began to drive out in the country.  She smiled as she looked out the window.  “Would you take pictures for me?”  I asked her.  I was driving and didn’t want to jeopardize our lives by taking them myself!  I think she thought I was joking at first.  “This is worship, girl!”  I exclaimed as I held out my phone to her.  She took my phone and snapped a few pictures- including the one above.

Isn’t it awesome that worship is not confined to a church building, a place, another person, or any other thing?  We can worship Him any time, any place, anywhere… because His Spirit is here with us.  He does not limit the ways in which we worship- we can get lost in wonder singing His praises, we can spend quality time with Him by reading the Word, or we can simply rest in the shadow of His wings-sitting in complete silence… He is always with us!

Don’t you know that you yourselves are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit dwells in your midst? 1 Corinthians 3:16

Thank You, Lord, for slowing me down and reminding me to worship You!  I am in awe at how You meet us right where we are at-and that I can worship You anytime, anywhere.  Thank you for my lovely friend who joined me in worship that morning! May I never be so hurried that I miss hearing Your voice, and miss seeing Your glory all around me!    

2 responses to “Anytime, Anywhere

  1. You said it so much better than I did!

    Like

    • Julie Harris says:

      Not at all- I truly enjoyed reading your blog and how much you love to sing and praise Him. Psalm 94 tells us to make a joyful noise for the Lord! Thanks for visiting! Blessings to you 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

