I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

For I know the plans

on January 17, 2014

Image

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.

Jeremiah 29:11 

How many times have you made plans, only to have them cancelled by some seemingly random thing?

Being a care-free type of girl, I have never been fond of making plans. Planning takes all the fun out of life!  For years I have called my husband our “activities coordinator” because he loves to make plans and see them follow through.  Sometimes they change by the minute, and I tell him to inform me when the plan is “set in stone”.  I love how God brought us together- completely opposites, yet alike in so many ways… he completes me and excels at everything I do not.

We had all sorts of plans made for the weekend- and they have changed by the minute.  As I sat with my husband this morning, I said, “Wouldn’t it be awesome if we just woke up and God told us what to do each day- no advanced notice… we just wake up and go?”   “How do you know that doesn’t already happen?” he asks.   He knows our plans already… what if these changes are just bringing us back to what He intended all along??

Deep thoughts for an early morning…

I quickly get the girls to the bus stop, and I look up and see a full moon setting low in the sky.  Girls!  Look!!  I tell them.  I don’t think I’ve ever seen a “moon set”!  I get home and quickly grab my phone to take a picture of this strangely beautiful setting moon, and as soon as I go outside, it is gone.  Timing is everything.

Image

As I walk my dog, I take a new direction. Was this God telling me to do something different? Or did I just change my mind?  I look around me and see the most beautiful clouds where the moon set in the sky.  To think that God created everything in the entire universe- and yet He knows every detail about His plan for me today just boggles my mind.  I don’t know what my plans are yet for the day…they are changing by the minute- but He is in it!  I know God has a better plan than I could ever come up with.  I’m just walking along today, worshipping Him, and  waiting for Him to guide my steps.

The heart of man plans his way, but the Lord establishes his steps. Proverbs 16:9

4 responses to “For I know the plans

  1. I love those pictures Julie. And I love this post. I like to plan too and try to “work” out things. But I am learning to let God lead and submit my plans to Him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

