I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Running the Race

on January 10, 2014

For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline.

 2 Timothy 1:7

“Running the Race”

Today’s the day I stop doubting everything I do

Second guessing each and every step I’m going through

Putting pressure on myself to be the best I can

So I rest in You because I’m following Your plan.

You’ve called me and I answered

You’ve given me all that I need

I pray for Your boldness, Your strength,and Your grace

I’ve got nothing to prove anymore-

I’m running the race.

I’m moving forward without any fear

because Emmanuel, I know that you’re here

You’ll show me every step and I’ll do my best

and I’ll give it all I got and let You do the rest

The spirit of fear doesn’t come from You

because I know this I can make it through

with the power You’ve given me I’ll be strong

I’ll lift up my voice and proclaim Your song

I wrote this song recently after praying for a Bible Verse to focus on for the year.  I have chosen 2 Timothy 1:7 for many reasons.  At times I have doubted myself and the abilities He has given me, and have focused to much on what other people think.  Then His quiet voice whispers this verse to me-Am I now trying to win the approval of human beings, or of God? Or am I trying to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a servant of Christ.  Galatians 1:10

He has equipped me with all that I need.  I am running the race, trusting that He will set the pace, clear the path, and help me jump each hurdle that comes my way.  I am serving the Lord with everything I have and using all He has given me- knowing that I must fully rely on His strength and power.   I’m moving forward, without fear- because He has called me, and He is with me!

  Lord, I pray for boldness as I serve You and for Your Spirit to guide me every step of the way.  By Your grace, may You help me to bring others along on this amazing journey of following You!  

Leave a Reply

