I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Word of our Testimony

on January 7, 2014

ImageAnd they overcame him by the blood of the Lamb, and by the word of their testimony

 Revelation 12:11

I had the most beautiful thing happen today.  Instead of going upstairs to my office at church, I decided to go into the sanctuary. I sat my laptop on the piano and began to answer emails and that sort of thing.  Someone happened to come in to do some maintenance work, and after a few minutes, I said “hello” in my sing-song voice.   I introduced myself to him, and then he began to talk about his church and his walk with the Lord.

He shared with me how Christ has completely changed him. He shared his salvation experience from 28 years ago, and how the Lord has used him to help bring others into a personal relationship with Christ.  His humbleness and the passion with which he spoke moved me.  He told me to never underestimate the power of prayer, and shared how he had prayed for a friend to receive Christ for over 15 years. He said he never gave up, and after 15 years,  his friend came to know the Lord.   After sharing with me, I asked him what his favorite hymn was.  “The Old Rugged Cross and anything by Fannie Crosby,” he replied.  I quickly took the cover off the piano, invited him to come up with me and we sang that beautiful hymn.   He said “Praise the Lord” and then quietly went about what he came to do.

What a blessing to hear him share his testimony today.  We will overcome by the blood of the lamb and the word of our testimonies!  May we never forget our salvation experiences- and may we share them with others as the Lord moves us to do so.  What an awesome, impromptu worship service we had today!

Lord, may we never underestimate the word of our testimonies and how You may use it to encourage and bring others into a relationship with you. Give us strength to live for You and to let our lives be a living testimony of Your amazing grace!

One response to “The Word of our Testimony

  1. Elaine says:

    wonderful experience!

    Like

Leave a Reply

