I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Making things New

on January 1, 2014

Image 2

Old to some, new to me

Others cast their trash, you see

but old to some is new to me.

Old to some, new to me

seeing things as they will be

even knowing history

He remakes what we will be!

I love old things.  I think that is why I enjoy going thrift-store shopping so much.  I have been searching for an old desk to refinish, and lo and behold, on a recent thrift-store adventure, there it was!  I heard angels singing and a light shining down from heaven on this desk.  Rough around the edges, a few chips here and there… but there it was- and it had me at “hello”!

Beautiful, elegant curves and a finish that compliments my *almost* 80 year old antique piano quite nicely…

Image 1

Yes, that will do!  I have never refinished a piece of furniture, but I am excited to learn to do something new!

I love how God can take a simple girl like me and make me new.  He gives me new passions and new ideas.  He renews my hope each day.  He can take my weary eyes and refresh them to see more clearly.  He can take a broken heart, piece it back together and filled it with love. He can breathe life into dry bones.   He can teach me new things- like how to use this awesome Macbook that my husband surprised me with last Christmas!   He is refining me and molding me, growing me and changing me into something new each day. Into something a little less like I used to be, and a little more like Him.  Like children, we should be eager to learn new things  and anticipate being on a new journey with Him each day… His mercies are new EVERY day.

Behold, I am making all things new- Revelation 21:5

2 responses to “Making things New

  1. Michael Snow says:

    There is a wonderful 3 min. video of Spurgeon’s words about Immanuel, God With Us. Christmas is over in the minds of many, but we are still in the Twelve Days of Christmas leading to Epiphany. This video shines beautiful light in the darkness!

    Like

    • Julie Harris says:

      Thank you for commenting and sending the link to this video. I have read many devotionals by Spurgeon, and this video is powerful, indeed! God is with us! I tell my children that it is Christmas every day in our hearts- because He is with us. Blessings to you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

