I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Making Beautiful Things

on December 21, 2013

Image

You’re making all things 

Beautiful in Your own time

Use these hands of mine!

Early on this Christmas Season, I made a vow to do much less shopping and to spend more time making things for others.  I made a scarf several weeks ago, and although it was not perfect, my oldest daughter told me she was putting in her order early.  She wants a purple one for Christmas.

I had surgery earlier this week and knew that I would need to find something to keep me occupied while I rest and recover.  Crocheting was just the thing!  No, my crocheting is not perfect- far from it, in fact!  But as I sit here and weave the loops of bright purple yarn together, I think about how carefully God has hand-crafted each one of us- hand picked  and given special skills and talents to be used for His purposes.   I know that my daughter will love the scarf- not because it’s the most beautiful scarf she’s ever seen, but because I am making it for her with love. It has taken me a long time to realize this-

we don’t have to be the best at something for God to use us and make something beautiful out of it.

I think of all the handmade gifts my girls have made me.  They melt my heart when I look at them because they were made out of love.   It’t not the gifts that really matter- it’s the love that we show one another, the time we spend together, and the lasting memories we make together that are most important.  These are beautiful things that could never be bought.

For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.

 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;  

your works are wonderful, I know that full well.  Psalm 139

Lord, I thank You for giving me hands to create things. I thank You for slowing me down a little so that I can spend more time with You. Thank You for the miraculous gift of Your Son.   Lord, You are more precious than silver, more beautiful than diamonds-and nothing I desire compares to You!

12 responses to “Making Beautiful Things

  1. Kev says:

    Looks like you have other gifts besides music. 🙂 Hope you have a quick recovery and everything is well for your. Merry Christmas to you and yours.

    Like

  2. Elaine says:

    Love this post! The most expensive gift in the world cannot compare to the gift that is made with love. They are always my favorite gifts.

    Like

  3. Elaine says:

    Reblogged this on Elaine's Random Thoughts and commented:
    A quote from this blog post that sums it all up: “we don’t have to be the best at something for God to use us and make something beautiful out of it” This post touched my heart–my very favorite gifts are those that are made with love. Though I haven’t done a lot of that as of late, I get the most enjoyment from giving gifts I have made myself also.

    Like

  4. Oh this is so nice. I love handmade gifts a lot. They show how much thought and effort is put in to making that one special gift.

    Like

  5. This was a lovely post, and I hope you are feeling better!

    Like

  6. Janis Cox says:

    Thanks for liking Under the Cover of Prayer. This is a lovely post and I pray that you recover quickly and completely.
    Blessings,
    Janis

    Like

Leave a Reply

