I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Letting SELF get in the way of JOY

on December 12, 2013

Image 3

Too many times I have let my SELF get in the way of experiencing His abundant JOY.

How many times have you declined an invitation to spend time with someone because you didn’t like the restaurant they chose, or didn’t have the right clothes to wear?  Petty things, aren’t they?

Just the other day, my husband called me while I was working and asked me if the girls and I wanted to meet him for lunch.  The girls were out of school due to a snow day and were spending the day with me.  Immediately I said no.  Not because I didn’t want to see him, not because I really had something else special planned for lunch-  I said no because of my own hang ups with food.  I said no because I know the restaurant my girls and hubby choose always results in a battle of self control on my part, and many times I leave the restaurant feeling defeated.  So I end the conversation by telling him I’ll think about it.

As I continue to work, I began to think about how blessed I am that I CAN meet my husband for lunch and also that he WANTS to spend his lunch hour with us.  I was convicted, and knew what I had to do.

So I called him and said yes to our lunch date… and yes to the battle of the buffet…

Image 4

My youngest slid into the booth beside me, and across from me sat my oldest daughter and my husband.  The blue of his sweater made his eyes sparkle in the sunlight coming through the window. I watched as he teased, sang, and played with the girls.  I fought back tears thinking of my selfishness and how I almost missed this moment in time. I pulled out my phone to take pictures of the three of them.  I made light of it, but I really wanted to remember the overwhelming gratitude I had in my heart as I watched the joy on my husband’s face.  We are never guaranteed another day.  And to think I could have missed that precious moment!

So don’t worry about these things, saying, ‘What will we eat? What will we drink? What will we wear?’These things dominate the thoughts of unbelievers, but your heavenly Father already knows all your needs. Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need.  

Matthew 6:31-33

Lord, help me to focus less on the material things in life and focus more on You.  Help me surrender every little hang-up, every single moment to You.  Thank You for all You have blessed me with.  Rid me of my SELF  and fill me with You.  May  I not miss another moment of JOY!

7 responses to “Letting SELF get in the way of JOY

  1. Elaine says:

    Great story! How easy it is for us to bypass those special moments and rob ourselves and others of the beautiful moments. I wonder how many of those special moments I have missed in life because of selfish reasons! God bless you!

    Like

  2. Elaine says:

    Reblogged this on Elaine's Random Thoughts and commented:
    How many precious joyful moments have we or others missed because we let our selfishness get in the way?

    Like

  3. Kev says:

    Lovely pics. I’ll be expecting a song about it soon. 😉

    Like

  4. This is so true. You can’t imagine how many times I have turned down something because it did not fit perfectly into the routine I had conceived in my mind. But the times I have accepted the invitations, boy was I blessed!

    Great pics of your family.

    Like

  5. Joan Clapp says:

    Love you, Julie. I miss you all so much!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

