I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Somebody’s watching me

on October 22, 2013

A woman’s eye. Esperanto: Virina okulo. França...

Imitate God, therefore, in everything you do, because you are his dear children. Live a life filled with love, following the example of  Christ.  He loved us and offered himself as a sacrifice for us, a pleasing aroma to God.  Ephesians 5

Everywhere we go, people are watching us.  On this particularly beautiful fall day, I ventured out to another doctor’s office- one I had never been to before.  I checked in and sat down in a chair close to the children’s play area. There was an elderly lady on one side of me, and a young man, who looked to be about 20, dressed nicely sitting directly across from me.  I smiled at them both and enjoyed the quiet music playing over the loudspeaker, and the warm sunshine breaking through the mini-blinds.

It was no sooner that I smiled at each of them that the young man slid down onto the floor, transfixed by a child’s toy- a bead maze- one much like my girls loved to play with as toddlers!   I watched him as he slowly moved each bead over to one side and then back again.  He then stood up and gently placed the toy back where it belonged and grabbed a book.  “The Wiggles” were on the front, as well as a clock that had moveable hands.  Once again, he was fascinated by each page,and changed the hands on the clock at every page turn.  I was overwhelmed watching him… I fought back tears as I thought about him and his family- and how precious life is and just how much I take for granted.

Most people know that I crack every joint in my body- like popcorn!  As I watched this young man become enthralled in the simple pleasures around him, I placed my hands on my head and jaw. POP! CRACK! POP!  And the young man quickly looked up from his book, startled by the loud popping and cracking, and tilts his head to the side, inquisitively.  I watched as he placed one hand on the top of his head and the other hand on his jaw and he began to attempt to crack his neck.  It was quite obvious he had not done this before, but he was imitating what he saw me do.  He awkwardly yanked his head from side to side as he smiled at me.  I had to hold back my giggles- not at the young man, but at how silly I must have looked to him jerking my own head back and forth!

This young man, who, at first glance looked much like a doctor himself, was so childlike and carefree.  When I open my eyes to the world around me, I can easily see how He uses simple interactions to remind me of this truth-  you never know who is watching you- and at what lengths they will go to imitate you.  Imitate God, therefore, in everything you do!

For to this you have been called, because Christ also suffered for you, leaving you an example, so that you might follow in his steps. 1 Peter 2:21
Lord, help me to continue to see Your goodness in everything around me.  Help me to be Christ-like in every thought, every word I say, and in everything that I do.  Lord, help me be more like You!
One response to “Somebody’s watching me

  1. Joan Clapp says:

    Again, I am touched by your blog!! Maybe, you should put them in book form!! They would make wonderful gifts if you had enough (Christmas gifts , next year!!!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

