I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

it’s the little things…

on September 24, 2013

5735_117547958321_4970811_n

“We’ll get our homework done early- we promise!!”  my girls beg with pleading eyes.

“We’ll do all our chores, mommy! Pleeeeease???”

And so the evening routine begins.  Laundry folding- they put it away with ease.  Homework- not a peep as they pour themselves into their writing, cutting, reading, flute practicing…  music to my ears!  

I begin to make dinner.  They finish their homework just on time as I serve our dinner.   Most evenings they would balk at eating these particular vegetables- but not tonight!

We finish dinner, and they obediently do all I ask. Evenings such as these make me giddy! All aspects of the  household are moving like the inner workings of a clock- all in perfect timing…

And the piece de resistance– we all snuggle on the couch, staying up late to watch our favorite show.  My little one belts out the theme song in her most gregarious singing voice.  I couldn’t wipe the giant smile from our faces even if I tried.

And then the sweetest part of the night happens…

We hear the song “You Are So Beautiful” sung on the show and my youngest says “Mommy- I know that song from “Full House”!  Remember that show from the early ’90’s? Well, that just happens to be one of my girls’ favorite shows.  My youngest thought that was where the song was from!  And I tell her that it is one of my very favorite songs!  She looks up at me, smiles,  grabs my hand, and laces her little fingers through mine.  We all sing together in unison.  I fight back tears as I am overwhelmed with love for my family.  What joy is found in the little things!

How fitting that song is for a night like tonight.  my cup runneth over-  psalm 23:5  

Crisp, cool fall evenings, a husband that loves us and provides for us and two beautiful girls who make my life complete,  a nice home, plenty of food in our cabinets, enjoying our favorite show together snuggled on the couch, holding hands…

What marvelous love the Father has extended to us! Just look at it—we’re called children of God!  1 John 3:1

So many blessings… and as my children thank me for letting them stay up a little later, I thank my Father for all of His many blessings, and for beautiful evenings such as these!

3 responses to “it’s the little things…

  1. Oh Julie, how truly blessed you are by God. I am so happy for you and the godly priorities you have set for your family. You are training up your children in the way they should go, so why wouldn’t that make God smile?!

    Like

  2. Kev says:

    The beauty of family life and spirit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

