I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Willing to be Made Willing

on September 19, 2013

Carter's Mountain- Charlottesville, VA

If you are willing and obedient,
    you will eat the good things of the land;  Isaiah 1:19

There are times in our lives when we know that He is asking us to do something that is out of the ordinary.  One of these “out of the ordinary” times for my husband and I was when we had to make the decision to leave our hometown and move here  to Charlottesville 9 years ago.    I was not even going to entertain the idea, because I did not ever want to move.  We had everything we needed right there… but there was that little voice telling us to “go”!   You know that saying “never say never”?  Well, I never thought I would have to make that decision.  I was scared.  I was terrified to leave my family and everything I had ever known.  My family….my husband’s family… all of our friends…

It really did not make sense to us at the time, but we heard that voice inside telling us to “go”, and so we did.  I told my husband that if we needed to move somewhere, I guess I could see myself living in Charlottesville.

As a child, we took many trips here to pick apples on Carter’s Mountain and to drive down the Blue Ridge Parkway.  It is absolutely breathtaking around here in the fall! I can still remember the excitement of driving down interstate 64 and seeing the blazing fall colors of the mountains over the horizon,  and in the car we would “ooh” and “aah”  in a sing-song voice at the spectacular sight!

And that was that… my husband found a wonderful job here, we sold our house in 2 days, and found our new house the first trip up to Charlottesville.  It was really that fast.  And simple.  And not a coincidence- but a “God Incident” that we are here.

I think of that moment I said I was willing to move… I was only partially willing- I wanted to move back after a couple of years.   After living in Charlottesville for a short while, I began to harbor resentment for leaving my home. I bargained with God for ways we could move back.  I searched for houses back home on the internet, jobs for us, anything I could think of to make it happen.  And I made everyone around me miserable.  I was pretty miserable, too.  After moving here and fighting what God was wanting me to do, I reached a point of being willing- willing to be made willing.  Even though I did not want to be here, I prayed for God to change my heart, and help me to be content and to be willing to do whatever it was that He was calling me here for.

After months of prayer, I finally surrendered and told Him I was willing…. willing to do everything He wanted me to do- no matter the cost- no matter if we moved “home” or stayed here. Our “home” here is temporal-  home is where He is- and He is with me always!   And ultimately I was willing- willing to stay or go, and willing to be all His and to serve Him and go into ministry.

for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.  Philippians 4:11

Whatever He is asking you to do- you just have to be willing.  He is with you every step of the way.  Moving here was a good thing.  It was definitely a “God” thing.  Seeing how God has worked in our lives since that moment 9 years ago is amazing.  He is simply amazing!

Here is a song that my husband and I wrote about being willing… being willing for God to change us and mold us into what He wants.  Being willing  to yield to His voice and to be obedient to all He asks- no matter the cost, because our life is not our own.. it is for His gain and His glory!

Lord, I am willing…  

5 responses to “Willing to be Made Willing

  1. Joan Clapp says:

    Thanks.I will try to remember this when I am homesick!

    Like

  2. popswally says:

    Reblogged this on Journey With Jesus and commented:
    Being willing is the first and most important step! Julie and David are living examples of HIS presence in our life when we are just willing. If we are just “willing to be made willing”, HE will start with this step of faith. Remember, Jesus said, “If you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mulberry tree. ‘Be uprooted and planted in the sea.’ and it will obey you.” ~Luke 17:6 I think we miss this point all too often. Faith is a choice and we start out making them one at a time. Julie speaks to how quickly everything came together and when we are willing to move in HIS direction…. Standby because it things will be confirmed in HIS timing and there will be NO doubt!
    Enjoy Julie’s entry and the song she and David have written. Ask yourself the question, am I “willing to be made willing”? HE waits for us to move in HIS direction and so often it is only a matter of “Willing to be Made Willing”.
    Blessings & Peace Always,
    ~Robert

    Like

  3. Kev says:

    You must be really close to your families to feel the way you did. For me, it was easy to move, I had no bond keeping me where I was. But I can feel the pull for you, the hardship it must have caused. lovely song.

    Like

  4. Julie Harris says:

    Thanks for visiting and listening to the song 🙂 I miss my family, but fortunately they are only a phone call away! Now, I only want to be where God wants me to be!

    Like

Leave a Reply

