I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Boiling Point

on September 7, 2013

Photo on 9-7-13 at 6.31 PM

I had been dreading this particular afternoon for days.  I picked my daughters up from school early one afternoon last week to take them to the dentist.  Visiting the dentist always proves to be an afternoon filled with anxiety and fear.   As I sat in the school’s  office, I noticed a poster on the wall-

It was titled “212 Degrees” and said this underneath-

212° the extra degree captures the essence of excellence in an unforgettable way… At 211° water is hot. At 212°, it boils. And with boiling water, comes steam. And steam can power a locomotive. The one extra degree makes the difference.

And in that moment, I forgot about everything else except that phrase…  Excellence…. one  extra degree makes all the difference.

I immediately thought about the one extra degree as one extra step of obedience to God.  You, know, that little extra “nudge” telling us to make just one extra phone call to tell someone they are missed.  One extra prayer for someone who God puts on your heart.  One extra meal for someone who is in need.  One extra smile on those days that you don’t really “feel like it”- because God is our strength!  How many people do you know that are hurting?  Lonely?  That need to feel loved? At times, I have reached out to others and have felt like it didn’t make any difference.  The fact is that God calls us to love each other- even if they do not love us back.  Even if they don’t smile back at you.   Even if they do not love you back… One extra degree– He wants us to put our hope and trust in Him alone and know that this verse is true-

So will the words that come out of my mouth  not come back empty-handed. They’ll do the work I sent them to do, they’ll complete the assignment I gave them.  Isaiah 55:11

I want to be at the “Boiling Point” with God- showing obedience in every little thing- bubbling over with His joy and doing all He asks of me!

In that dentist office, I was at my boiling point with God- quietly praying while calming down my youngest child.  Instead of worrying alongside her and getting angry over her meltdown, I knew that one extra degree of being a loving, understanding mommy  was what He was asking me to do in that moment.  Sitting patiently with her, much to my surprise, the dentist cheerfully said, “no cavities!”  And at that point, several of the other hygienists looked over at us with smiles on their faces, knowing the not-so-cheerful reports we have had in the past.  And the girls and I loudly cheered and I said “Praise the Lord!!!”

One extra degree… one extra step of obedience… I wrote a song about a year ago about giving God my all… having no regrets and not looking back.  This song came to mind when I saw that poster in the school office that day.    It is called “All or Nothing”.  I don’t want to just be steam… I want to boil over with the joy of the Lord! 

“All or Nothing”

Everybody’s looking for something,

for something to fight for.

but the battle has already begun

and He’s won.

He came to show us His love and to

reconcile our sins.

His grace abounds and when we receive it,

our journey begins…

Don’t want to do it “half-way”

It’s all or nothing.

Don’t want to do it “half-way”

I’m gonna pick up my cross

and follow You.

Don’t want to do it “half-way”

It’s all or nothing.

Don’t want to do it “half-way”

Whatever You ask for, I’m gonna do for You.

I wanna see the world through Your eyes

and not be hypnotized by the world’s lies

Help me to see You in everything,

in every circumstance

may I not be devoted to anything other than You

8 responses to “The Boiling Point

  1. […] The Boiling Point.  That extra degree, that extra step…. Julie Harris helps us to see that we ARE in fact called to that extra degree and step for our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.  He’s taken the step for us and God has stated in His word, “For we are HIS workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works which GOD prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.” Ephesians 2:10 – ESV.  Make no mistake, we are called to take the extra step.  You can also be assured of this, HE will bless our obedience with peace and joy. […]

    Like

  2. Joan Clapp says:

    I love your blog and hearing you sing. It makes me feel closer to home. I feel special, too, that I received the call, about “no cavities!” I miss the girls and our special times together, more than you can imagine!!

    Like

  3. Scott Wesely says:

    You are quickly becoming a talented writer, giving God the glory and seeking his face will bring you into a fulfilling relationship with Him, and bless those around you. I’m excited to see where God will take you as you walk this contradicting road with its joys and sorrows, laughter and tears.

    Like

  4. Talented in so many ways. Loving it!

    Like

  5. One more degree…thanks for posting this.Sometimes I get so tired, weary, and I don’t really feel like going the extra step to give a smile or a call because “I am too tired” or whatever. But this really reminded me that it is not about me but about Christ and Him allowing me to reach Boiling Point!

    Like

Leave a Reply

