I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Helpless

on August 16, 2013

IMG_0345

 

Most mornings I sit at the piano and sing whatever He puts on my heart…sometimes I sing my prayers.  One morning I wrote this song as I prayed to God.   So often I feel helpless- not knowing what to do, or what direction to go in.   It’s those moments like these  that I find comfort in knowing He is in control and He is with me.

 Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words.  

Romans 8:26-27

Many times  I don’t even know how to pray or what to say… but this verse brings comfort to me-knowing that Jesus Himself is interceding and knows the deepest worries and desires of my heart.   As overwhelmed as life can get at times, I want to passionately pursue Christ and be obedient to all He asks of me.  He is everything my heart desires.

 And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.  Colossians 3:17

And I give thanks for these moments of complete helplessness, for He gently reminds me that I can do nothing without Him and that He is all that I need.

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.  That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong. 2 Corinthians 12:9-10

Helpless

Here I am in this moment waiting for You

To hear my cry, to hear my heart beating for You

and I have fallen so far

I don’t have the strength so I bow to all You are

I’m helpless without You

and I need You, come and fill my heart

I’m helpless away from You

You are everything that I desire

So I give to You my sacrifice of praise

I sing to You with everything I am

Lord, hear my voice, in this moment calling to You

I need You more than ever before.

6 responses to “Helpless

  1. […] Helpless.  We are Helpless and yet, in HIM we can find comfort and strength.  God continues to speak through Julie and she remains faithful to write.  Enjoy this entry by Julie Harris and as always… Blessings and Peace to you and yours, always. […]

    Like

  2. Kathy Wright says:

    So beautiful!!!!

    Like

  3. Such a beautiful song. This is often the sentiment of my heart. I pray I always see that I am helpless without Christ and that I cling to Him always.
    Blessing to you

    Like

  4. […] Helpless (isingbecauseimfree.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  5. […] Helpless (isingbecauseimfree.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

