I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Seek and ye shall find…

on July 27, 2013

IMG_0343

It happened again… I lost yet another piece of jewelry that I love- my sideways cross necklace…

I have lost many items of jewelry.  Once I lost my diamond wedding rings in the grocery store just down the street- and they were found. Another time I lost a gold earring out in the lake in our neighborhood-and it was found several days later by someone who was there the day I lost it and kept looking for me!

 For every one that asketh receiveth; and he that seeketh findeth; and to him that knocketh it shall be opened.  Matthew 7:7-8

And I am reminded that it is good to look for things.. to seek the tangible and intangible.  There was once a time when I would shy away from talking about God because I didn’t know Him… what I didn’t know or understood scared me.

As we were driving yesterday, my girls began asking me questions… “Momma, who made God?”  “What does heaven look like?”  And instead of shrugging my shoulders and saying I didn’t know- like I would have done years ago, I told them what I do know.

Because I have been relentlessly pursuing Him, seeking to know Him through prayer, the Word, and through worship, I am not scared of these questions. It has been through having a personal relationship with Christ that I have come to know just how awesome He is!   I smile at the girls’ questions…

In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.  Genesis 1:1

So I tell them that God has always been, and that He will forever be… and I tell them that I don’t know exactly what heaven will look like, but I can imagine it!  I tell them to think of the most beautiful place they could imagine… and then imagine being with all the things that make them the happiest they have ever been… I think heaven is going to be even better than that!  And we all smile together, each of us deep in thought about how marvelous Heaven will be!

And as I straighten and clean my room this morning, there I find my cross necklace- knotted up laying under a pile of clothes on my bed!  I smile and thank Him for His goodness.  Why do I love this sideways cross?  On Good Friday, several of us from church carried a large wooden cross and walked down a busy street in town, just as Jesus and His disciples did thousands of  years ago- and as I helped to carry the cross that day, I noticed that as we all held it, we carried it sideways.  Our burdens are lighter when we carry them together… He died on the cross so that we may live for Him.

Then Jesus said to his disciples, “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me. For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me will find it.  Matthew 16:24-25

This sideways cross reminds me that my life is not my own, and that He is with me, helping me to carry any burden that I may have… and helping me to seek Him and find Him in all things – and my girls remind me that asking questions is a good thing!

I love those who love me, and those who seek me find me.  Proverbs 8:17

 

3 responses to “Seek and ye shall find…

  1. A great lesson and right on time.

    Like

  2. What a lovely post which I read through the innocence of children. What happens as we grow older and think we ‘know’ it all? Oh to go back and be totally amazed at the magnificence of God’s Creation, mighty and small. I truly enjoy the way you right and look forward to reading many more of them! Blessings,

    Like

Leave a Reply

