I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Waiting on You

on July 20, 2013

Image

I am going to share one of my pet peeves today…

Countless times I have gone to a grocery store and have brought my girls with me.  Those of you with children know what a challenge this can be… so the fact that I make it up to the checkout counter in one piece with both girls and have not lost my marbles is a small miracle in itself.  So after everything has been rung up, I am reaching into my wallet to pull out my debit card and I hear the cashier say, “Waiting on you!”  Well, don’t you see that I am trying as fast as I can to get out of here and I have my card in hand, about ready to swipe??  

Patience is something I am severely lacking.  I cannot even bear to shop online because I do not want to wait 3-5 shipping days for my purchased items to be in-hand.  I pray for patience daily. I am not proud of this, but I also find myself wishing away the summer.  I have been blessed with two beautiful, healthy, fun girls, but summertime definitely requires more multi-tasking, disciplining, more balancing of “hats”, and much less “quiet” time-  and part of me longs for the routine of school days.

And as I am praying for patience, I see that God is speaking to me.  I opened my Bible and on the front page is this verse-

Children are a gift from the Lord; They are a reward from Him.- Psalm 127:3

And it hits me like a ton of bricks… My girls are a blessing- a gift from the Lord.  Stop wishing away these summer days and have joy in these moments. Enjoy being in His presence and enjoy the gifts He has given me.  

And then I realize that He is probably saying the same thing to me that the cashier says… “I’m waiting on you”…He is waiting on me…to be thankful and grateful for what I have and to stop complaining about all the things I can’t do, but to say I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength!  He is waiting on me to see His goodness in each and every moment.  He is waiting on me to see Him in every circumstance… and to focus on all the blessings He has given me!

So the LORD must wait for you to come to him so he can show you his love and compassion.  Isaiah 30:18

And He gently reminds me how patient He has been with me…How grateful I am for His grace and His love… and I am reminded that living in fellowship with Him each and every day is a blessing that I do not deserve.  

3 responses to “Waiting on You

  1. deharris2 says:

    I love your blog. You have a gift for REAL communication.

    Like

  2. […] Waiting on You.  The greatest lessons seem to always come in the “nitty gritty” of life.  Julie shares her walk in an honest and open way that shows us this truth.  Read on and enjoy, you may just find yourself, like I did, having a memory that honestly brings this clear message home. […]

    Like

  3. This is so true with everything. Sometimes in the midst of life and folly, I stop myself to remind myself to savor the moment as it is, and just be. And then everything is better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

