I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Being Christ-like while cleaning…

on July 13, 2013

IMG_0325

“Noooo!!”  my children moan, as I tell them that we all need to clean our rooms…

Set a guard, O Lord, over my mouth; keep watch over the door of my lips!  Psalm 141:3

Motherhood is a wonderfully fulfilling part of life that often brings me to my knees in prayer.  What an enormous responsibility it is to train up a child in the way he should go (Proverbs 22:6). I tell them that part of mommy’s job is to teach them how to clean and cook and take care of household duties.

So after I give instructions to my girls about cleaning their bedrooms,  my youngest tells me to come in and help her.  Often  I would get irritated at this request, and immediately demand that she begin the process herself, but something made me take time from my own cleaning duties to help her with hers.

Lord, help me to be self-less, and Christ-like… putting my girls first…the things I need to do can wait…

And so I put a smile on my face and sat in her floor…

With sheer glee on her face, she picked up each article of clothing and put it in a drawer, the whole time saying how proud her friend would be when she saw her clean room.  She asked me to make her bed, and I did.  She carefully put stuffed animals on it, and put away everything on her floor.  She happily chatted with me while I was in her room helping her make it tidy…

And then it hit me- one of the most important things I can do as a mom is to build relationships with my girls.  Loving, trusting relationships that show them that I care about them, about their feelings, about what they like.  And so I listened to her talk about how excited she was to have a friend over this evening, and I shared in her joy.  I can remember the anticipation of having a friend over and wanting to make them happy.  How special it was to see life through the eyes of an (almost) 8 year old!  It is the little things like this that make being a mommy just about the most wonderful thing ever!

So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.  1 Corinthians 10:31

When we do things with others in mind it makes them more meaningful.  When we do things for His glory, it makes them acts of worship!   I seriously dislike doing dishes,  but when I think of how much my husband will appreciate walking into a clean kitchen, it brings me joy.  I love to hear the girls giggle with anticipation as they hear Daddy coming up the steps of the basement, eagerly waiting to hear his praise for  their hard work.  They took pride in their cleaning today, and so did I.  And the girls and I grew a little closer in our relationships. Mothers and daughters… learning and growing together- doing mundane chores with others in mind.   And I grow in my relationship with Christ as He reminds me that He is the center of my life and my home.

as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord- Joshua 24:15

2 responses to “Being Christ-like while cleaning…

  1. Joan Clapp says:

    You are just the best Mommy! I hope that they think of me occasionally in their special rooms!

    Like

  2. Kathy Wright says:

    Julie, that’s exactly what I want to do with my grandchildren. All the trouble of moving is certainly going to be worth it. So glad you had a good day with Katie and Sophie.

    Like

Leave a Reply

