I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Takin’ Out The Trash…and yes, I wrote a song about it…

on July 6, 2013

 

 

I’m taking out the trash.. literally and figuratively… (btw, hubby, we forgot again to put the actual trash out this week!!!)  Yeah, I’m not the best at cleaning and cooking and being a housekeeper… just a few more things He shows me much grace for!

Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes?  Matthew 6:25

I am finally getting rid of things- clothes, to be exact.  You know the ones- the “goal” clothes… the ones we stare at and envision how it will feel to finally wear this or that, as if our entire lives would change with each piece of clothing we torture ourselves with. Instead of holding onto these little reminders of what I am not, I am going to remind myself of this-

For you created my inmost being;
    you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
    your works are wonderful,
    I know that full well.  Psalm 139

About a year ago, I did a little experiment.  I decided to go an entire day with no makeup and put absolutely no effort in the way I looked. This was an “errand” day.   I wondered if people would really look at me and treat me any differently.  You know what I found?  My day was no different than usual… except that I didn’t focus on my outward appearance. It was actually very freeing!  The way I look does not change who I am… I am God’s child… fearfully and wonderfully made…

You turned my wailing into dancing; you removed my sackcloth and clothed me with joy,  that my heart may sing your praises and not be silent.  Lord my God, I will praise you forever.  Psalm 30:11-12

Forget my “goal” clothes…. My goal is to daily clothe myself in the joy of the Lord!  Who needs all the clutter of extra clothes lying around anyway?! I will not make my self-worth tied to the size of my clothes, the number on the scale, the friends I have, the mistakes I have made…  I’m taking out the trash, getting rid of junk I don’t need and all those negative thoughts that are swimming in my head.  Lord, fill me with Your truths….

 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made-  Psalm 139

7 responses to “Takin’ Out The Trash…and yes, I wrote a song about it…

  1. gary o says:

    Thank you Julie

    Like

  2. popswally says:

    Thanks for a great devo moment. Remembering who we are to HIM is more important than the clothes we wear or the judgments others place on these types of things. Blessings to you for sharing.

    Like

  3. deharris2 says:

    CPADave71 guided me to this blog, knowing that I would be interested. I am not only interested, I am blown away. Your depth of feeling and understanding are amazing. Lee[ up the great work.

    Like

  4. ijharris22 says:

    Julie, I really enjoyed reading your blog. I love how open and honest you are and how you are always pointing back to God as our source, our helper, our provider, and our all in all in every situation and our answers are always found in Him and His word. God has given you a voice not only for singing but also to extol his virtues. You let people know that there are struggles but when we surrender them to God and surrender our will to God, He is always faithful and He is always there to help us and nothing is too difficult for Him. We can do all things through Christ who gives us strength. Philipisns 4:13

    Like

Leave a Reply

