I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Being Christ-Like… even while doing yard work…

on June 24, 2013

 

Image

We despise yard work.  I don’t say this lightly.  In fact, despise is not a strong enough word for how we really feel about this activity.  We are both “city-folk” and came from homes that had parking pads instead of long driveways.  So, we have a big mess of a yard that needs a lot of work done to it.  We finally took the plunge and got mulch.  That seems like a small step towards redeeming our yard, but we did it… I’m not talking about a little pile of mulch… I mean a ginormous dump-truck sized pile… to be spread over our entire backyard.  

We are both head-strong and like to do things our own ways.  

Wives, submit to your own husbands, as to the Lord- Ephesians 5:2

He is a planner, I am care-free.  He likes to organize, I live and thrive in disarray.  Organized chaos, I like to call it!  He likes things his way, and I like them mine…

So, realizing my own tendencies, and knowing that he probably already has a plan in mind of how to spread the mulch, I hold my hand up in a truce… 

“Let’s be Christ-like today,”  I say with a smirk on my face.. he knows what I mean.  I lift my hand and we high-five each other.   I love him and I am going to try my best to be his helper today.  He loves me and he is also going to do the same.  It is a gorgeous day. I am going to  enjoy being with my husband.  

Is there any encouragement from belonging to Christ? Any comfort from his love? Any fellowship together in the Spirit? Are your hearts tender and compassionate?  Then make me truly happy by agreeing wholeheartedly with each other, loving one another, and working together with one mind and purpose.  Philippians 2

And so I break out in song as I rake… “praise God from whom all blessings flow… praise Him all creatures here below….” and my husband chimes in.  He shovels mulch into the wheelbarrow, and dumps it as I quickly come behind him, raking it and evening it out.  We are working like a well-oiled machine.  

It is a joy to be like-minded with my husband and to share the common goal of taking responsibility for something we have long overlooked.  Our labor is beginning to bear fruit, as we look out over our back yard and see what looks like a carpet of chocolate.  

But the best part of all is knowing that we did this together!  

And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity- Colossians 3:14

 

2 responses to “Being Christ-Like… even while doing yard work…

  1. ladyinthehouse says:

    Love the writing in here! Great posts:)

    Like

  2. popswally says:

    Great entry and I know that although there was work afoot, y’all had a great time together and sounds like some worship took place in the midst of it all!

    Like

Leave a Reply

