I Sing Because I'm Free

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Putting the Pieces Together

on June 18, 2013

IMG_0218

Deep thoughts…. as my girls watch The Brady Bunch in the next room, my hubby is on his way home from work.  I am lost in thought as I enjoy a quiet dinner at the dining room table.

We took a family vacation last year to the Outer Banks and it was probably the best week we have ever had together- that is until this year’s Outer Banks vacation!  We discovered something we love to do as a family- puzzles!  We become lost in thought, mindlessly matching up colors to like colors, edge pieces to edge pieces… there is something therapeutic about building a puzzle.  It takes teamwork, lots of time, patience, and the final picture is the ultimate reward.

We went to Barnes and Noble last Sunday on my birthday and decided to get a puzzle to work on at home.  Why wait until vacation next summer for the festivities to begin?!  David picked out two puzzles and had the girls choose which one we would get.  They chose a colorful one with hot air balloons- rainbow colored ones!

As I sat at the table eating my dinner this evening, I see that all the edges of the puzzle have been put together and there are many little clusters of joined puzzle pieces….. then I think about how God is forming our lives.  He has built this beautiful framework for each of us.  I have spent so  much of my life  putting the wrong pieces together, trying to fit in here and there…   and then I think about how many years I have been with my husband and wonder why we have waited this long to put a puzzle together… married for 16, and we’ve been together for nearly 19 years!  You’d think we would have tried just about every hobby in the world in that amount of time!

I think about life, and the picture God is trying to paint with it.  We have all these pieces, and the framework… but we have to let Him guide us as we put the pieces together.

We walk by faith, not by sight- 2 Corinthians 5:7

The first thing we do when we put together a puzzle is make sure we can see the box clearly so we know what colors to look for.  We walk by faith when we put our puzzle pieces in God’s hands.  We can’t see the picture He is painting, but we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose- Romans 8:28.  

I am anxiously waiting to see what kind of beautiful picture He will put together in each of my children’s lives… and my husband’s.. and my own.   Time is flying by and I don’t want to waste another minute wondering what kind of picture He is painting.  I’m putting all my pieces in His hands…

One response to “Putting the Pieces Together

  1. Kathy Wright says:

    Julie,
    I love your thoughts. They paint a beautiful picture in my mind. Kathy

    Like

Leave a Reply

